jump to navigation

I’ve finally earned my wings! May 18, 2008

Posted by Teen Atheist in anecdotes.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I don’t think I’ll ever tire of using theist references. Although I’m currently in the process of graduating from “OMG” to “OMJ(oe)”.

Anyhoo, two days ago, I received a wonderful present from Benj of Atheista.net. Despite the fact that Atheista may have inadvertently outed my nationality as a result of this blog post, I’m still totally psyched!

I’ll admit that I came really close to going on hiatus due to the lack of atheism-related events happening in my life, but now that I have this, my enthusiasm has been newly energized! Even though that might mean more atheism-free, workplace-ranty posts. Sorry, guys.

Thanks to Atheista’s generosity, you may now redirect your servers (or not, if you’re lazy) to…

teenatheist.com

(I would have made it do that HTML blinky thing, but even I’m not that annoying.)

Now, with regards to my nationality being kind of out in the open now, it’s no big deal, as I have mentioned in my About page. Let me just say, though, that I am not in the least bit ashamed to be a countrywoman of [insert country here]. (Okay, so that sounded kind of hilariously ironic, but I do have a point here!) I only maintained ambiguity here because I do not feel that my citizenship is not relevant to the message I am trying to convey with this blog.

…If there is one.

Also, I started this blog aiming to reach an international audience rather than a country-exclusive one, which is usually what happens when [insert country here] bloggers know that you’re from their country. I hope that knowing where I come from does not change your opinion of me; I am still the Teenage Atheist, period, rather than the Teenage Atheist From [insert country here].

I’m not 100% sure on what to do with this shiny new domain since I’ve always been dependent on blog hosts (me to Atheista: “I feel like a hillbilly who just got an iMac ā€” Iā€™m totally honored, although I have no idea how to work this internetty website thingamajigger stuff.” Yes, I am a little bit racist, too. Everyone is!) but I’m currently in the process of figuring this out. I may be contacting Jersey sometime soon to enlist her help, since she’s been very helpful about telling me which buttons to click and all of that. Hee.

In closing, let me quote Wayne Campbell: “Party on!”

Comments»

1. kat - May 18, 2008

“O Mary Jane!”

2. GDad - May 18, 2008

My dad’s aunt is from the country where I’m pretty sure you live. If a wood store were having a sale, and my job was to mark down the prices, and I had to tag a log, would I be close?

You can delete this post if you want.

3. Karen - May 18, 2008

Though I grew up Catholic, until I was almost an adult I understood the phrase “finally earned my wings” to mean “earned my aircraft pilot’s license.” Maybe I was just that much of a geek. šŸ™‚

4. zeynepankara - May 18, 2008

I am new here. Just wanted to say hello. So hello!! Zeynep xx

5. Teen Atheist - May 18, 2008

GDad: I’m not even going to dignify that with a response! šŸ˜€

(Seriously, it’s really easy.)

6. Teen Atheist - May 18, 2008

Karen: Hee. On that note (…ish), I’ve read and re-read the dictionary entry for “bemused” all my life and I still have no idea what it really means.

7. Teen Atheist - May 18, 2008

zeynepankara: Hello!

8. phildebate - May 18, 2008

DUDE I NEVER OUTED YOUR NATIONALITY.

The contest is open for all blogs worldwide.

Tough luck. HAHAHAHAHA

9. Teen Atheist - May 19, 2008

O RRY?

I outed myself then. GOD DAMN IT NXCOEUBCOUFEBRCBC~~~

(LOL, it’s fine, though. I’m sure they would have figured it out from the little flag next to my name in your Comments section. šŸ˜› )

10. the Shaggy - May 19, 2008

Would have to say, TA, that I would never have guessed where you were from.

Also, it was only astonishing curiosity due to you maintaining said ambiguity that drove me to go find out, otherwise you are still just the Teenage Atheist, Period.

Congrats on the domain, too! Makes it easy to remember (I always get wordpress, blogspot, and blogger confused when trying to go from memory).

11. Teen Atheist - May 19, 2008

You’re actually the first person to congratulate me, Shaggy, so thank you very much! šŸ˜€

As for my place of origin, I still don’t think it matters, so I’m cool with it. It didn’t matter when people didn’t know where I was from, and it doesn’t matter now that they do. For as long as I’m still just TA, period, I doubt it should be a problem.

12. Show-Ender - May 19, 2008

Your identity is an open secret already, so there’s no need to fuzz over Benj. Congrats, anyway.

13. Teen Atheist - May 19, 2008

First of all, Show-Ender, I was not fuzzing over Benj. The dude just bought me a friggin’ domain. I’m thankful. Secondly, my identity? I was worried about my nationality, I never said anything about my identity. Jesus.

And aren’t you the same Show-Ender who made a comment about how he didn’t like my constant use of pseudonyms? Who the hell are you? Do I know you?

[/paranoid]

14. Leyn ā™„ - May 20, 2008

congrats. i’ve been visiting this for quite some time.

15. missingpoints - May 20, 2008

Your place of origin matters. If you were a teenage atheist in Amsterdam your atheism wouldn’t have been much of an issue. But the fact that you live in a predominantly Catholic country makes your story more interesting.

16. Show-Ender - May 20, 2008

Nationality IS part of one’s identity, TA. It helps your readers understand why you’re anonymous in the first place. One thing that bothers me though: how did you stay incognito at that Trinoma foodtrip?

No, you don’t know me. The only thing we have in common is your dream college. Anyway, my identity is unimportant – as of now. Just know that I heavily sympathize with unbelievers, even if I am Catholic.

And overcaffein8d, didn’t TA ban you from these parts?

17. Teen Atheist - May 20, 2008

Show-Ender: That’s because I wasn’t part of that “food trip.” I don’t join blogger events, I just met Benj that one time as a product of mere coincidence. Maybe someday, though. Who knows?

Where I come from =/= who I am. Part of why I kept my nationality ambiguous; I genuinely feel that it does not matter. It affects my experiences, certainly, but not who I am. I was worried you knew my name, face, social networking profiles, etc. etc. And your less-than-friendliness in your comments kind of scared me for a moment there. Sorry, too many run-ins with stalkers has made me super paranoid!

You’re right, I have banhammered overcaffein8d for generally being an arse and making stupid comments. Bahleeted!

18. Teen Atheist - May 20, 2008

Leyn: Thank you! šŸ™‚

19. Show-Ender - May 20, 2008

Anonymity brings paranoia, TA. You’d worry about blowing your cover so much that if anyone asks of your identity/makes hints about it, you’d raise the alarm.

20. atheistgirl - May 21, 2008

he-he i prefer “oh my bob/ oh my boba-fett” i’m such a nerd. anyway, congrats! and don’t worry about your nationality, at this point, it doesn’t really make a difference.

21. Teen Atheist - May 21, 2008

Thanks, atheistgirl! I’m glad you agree. šŸ˜€

22. Robin Lionheart - May 23, 2008

OMFSM!

23. Teen Atheist - May 23, 2008

Why do you have such a problem with my anonymity, Show-Ender? I use fake names to avoid bias by association. I am not part of any clique, nationality, or group, other than two: teenagers and atheists. People who comment here don’t have to worry that I am better friends with other commenters. I’ll reply to anyone, and I treat them all equally. (Except if you’re an asshole, at which point you will be bahleeted.) If I were to reveal that I am Miss X from X Country, like it or not, that’s going to shift my demographic dramatically. I might as well get a bloody Facebook.

Frankly, your insistence is beginning to annoy me.

24. benj - May 24, 2008

FLAMEWAR!!!!

25. Teen Atheist - May 24, 2008

Benj, you lolcat you.

26. Show-Ender - May 24, 2008

Insistence? I am only curious as to how you can maintain your readership while remaining anonymous (mind you, I’m quite envious… I don’t even have a blog to begin with!). If you feel that I am insinuating that you do out your identity, that’s just paranoia. You said it yourself, didn’t you? “…too many run-ins with stalkers has made me super paranoid!”

Anyway, keep up the good work. Who knows? Your entries might turn me atheist!

27. Teen Atheist - May 24, 2008

No, the paranoia only extended to me freaking out that you might be someone who knows me personally. The rest of it is still pretty founded, I think, because most of your comments had been nitpicks about my anonymity. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t slightly annoyed. If you’re saying that’s not what you meant, though, then fine, I’ll buy it.

I don’t think any one person can turn someone else atheist/theist/etc. (Except for Tom Cruise? Hee.) It’d be great if I were powerful enough to accomplish that feat, but ultimately, it’s a very personal journey.

ETA: As for how I can maintain readership while maintaining anonymity, it actually helps my cause. Took a page out of College Callgirl‘s book.

28. benj - May 25, 2008

You two are FUNNY! And to think I’ve met you both of you personally! Shouldn’t I just spoil who you guys are to get this over with?

29. Show-Ender - May 25, 2008

Oh snap! Don’t do dare, Benj! don’t you dare!

30. Show-Ender - May 25, 2008

*you… my bad

31. benj - May 25, 2008

If I tell your name to TA will it even ring a bell? hehe

32. Teen Atheist - May 26, 2008

Ha, and now look who’s paranoid about some big revelation. šŸ˜›

Funny indeed, Benj. XD

33. Agersomnia - June 12, 2008

“Anonymity brings paranoia”

Yeah, riiiight…
Say that to China’s cyber community or to any US citizen supporting Castro within the US, or to special witnesses against the mob or the drug cartels.

If any of the above fears anyone, it surely is paranoia.


Leave a Reply

